Taran Rampersad isn't Affiliated with TaranRampersad.com (updated)
Update (February 4th, 19:22): I was contacted by Saish Balkaran who has told me that his Visa was compromised a few weeks ago and has been having problems. We're resolving the issue amicably at this time.
It came to my attention yesterday that someone had registered TaranRampersad.com; in tracing who had done so (and used a derogatory Trinidad and Tobago colloquialism in the WHOIS information), I came across the email address deranged_trini@hotmail.com. Searching for that email address took me to the Trinidad and Tobago Students Federation of Yorke University. That same email address is being used by Saish Balkaran, whose name was mentioned as the registrar of a site related to the Sean Luke Case. Is it the same person? Given the same emali address, it would seem very likely. Credit card information, which can be subpoenaed, can verify. It would be a pity for a silly prank to get to that level - it could be very damaging to a young career.
In other words, I don't expect anything good to come from TaranRampersad.com, and regardless - I most certainly am not affiliated with it. That the registration information probably does not match the credit card used for the registration of the domain name, and that it includes a derogatory colloquialism which could only be associated with someone who would use it - all of this leads up to this being the antics of someone who is seeking attention. They are likely to receive it, as emails have gone out to various entities to inform them of all of this. Further, more emails will be going out this week - and perhaps even letters written by people with law degrees. Perhaps a vindictive prank may have been a bite larger than the prankster can chew.
This is why domain registrars should be more careful about domain registration information, something which is identified as a common problem by ICANN and others with whom I have spoken over the years at various conferences and meetings.
If anyone receives email from anyone at TaranRampersad.com - it isn't from me, and unlikely to be from anyone bearing that name. However, if such emails are received bearing my name, myself and my lawyers would most certainly like to hear about them. Perhaps even a University would too. ;-) Otherwise, I am somewhat amused and have responded in kind... registering someone's name as a URL as well.
I wonder- how far would they like to press this? I have so many options, they so few...

Man that sucks...
...big time! :-(
Sucks more for him, actually.
like I said, I have a lot of options right now. He has very few.
Now looky here --
I happen to know there is only one (1) Taran Rampersad. If there was another you would certainly have known about it by now. You actually may have to use your middle name or initial in your signature to clarify, but this disclaimer should probably do it. Is this faux domain a permanent internet site?
I have half a mind to write to the fool, but then, I only have half a mind and what would I do without it?
Its already being settled.
I'm gaining control of the domain. ;-)
Post new comment